clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Houston Rockets Mount Rushmore

LeBron start this decision in 2014. The Dream Shake brings it back since it's Presidents' day.

Sure, LeBron brought up the question of 'Who is on the NBA's Mount Rushmore?" in 2014. Today is Presidents Day, so why not revisit the topic and create the Rockets' Mount Rushmore.

With no scientific process, other than a major vote among TDS writers, the The Dream Shake's Mount Rushmore includes Hakeem Olajuwon, Rudy Tomjanovich, Elvin Hayes, and Moses Malone.

The easiest selection of the bunch of course is "The Dream", he's the namesake of the website after all. Olajuwon is a 2-time NBA champion, 2-time Finals MVP, 1994 NBA MVP, 12-time NBA All-Star, franchise leading scorer, NBA's All-Time leader in blocks, and Basketball Hall of Fame - Class of 2008. Hakeem is on the Mount Rushmore of the NBA's All-Time center, and a no-brainer on the Rockets' edition.

Rudy Tomjanovich spent his entire 11-year NBA career in a Rockets uniform. He is in the top-five in franchise history for minutes played, points, rebounds, and total win shares. Rudy T retired after the 1980-81 season, and became a Rockets assistant coach in 1983. He would rise to head coach in 1992 and he would lead the Rockets to two NBA championship in 1994 and 1995.

Elvin Hayes, spent seven seasons with the Rockets, averaging 20.6 points, 12.2 rebounds, and 0.9 blocks in Houston. He was the 1969 NBA scoring champion in his rookie season with the San Diego Rockets. Hayes is in the top-15 in NBA history in minutes per game (38.37), rebounds per game (12.49), and top-40 in points per game (20.96). Hayes was elected to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013.

Moses Malone spent six seasons with the Rockets. Malone was voted the NBA Most Valuable Player twice with the Rockets (1979, 1982). He averaged 24.0 points, 15.0 rebounds, 1.3 assists, and 1.3 blocks per game in his career with the Rockets. Malone finished in the top-50 in career points per game in NBA history (20.33) and top-15 in rebounds per game (12.49). He was elected to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2008.

Not happy with our selections? Vote for your own Rockets Mount Rushmore. We will update the article after 24 hours with our selections.