clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TDS readers vote 1995 as greatest Rockets team of all-time

Our reader-led bracket comes to a close.

Hakeem Olajuwon Celebration Portrait Photo by Bill Baptist/NBAE via Getty Images

Well, our bracket has finally come to a close, and we finished up with a barnburner that ended in a mild upset. The second-seeded 1995 Rockets came back from an early deficit to defeat the 1994 title team by a mere two votes.

The 1994 team edged the simulation in a tightly fought seven-game series, however, 1995 flipped the script in the fan vote, and since we wanted our readers making this important decision, the 1995 team are your champs and officially the TDS Greatest Rockets Team of All-Time.

They defeated the 1981 Rockets in an opening-round blowout (93% - 7%) and followed that up with a tough second-round win over 2018 (57% - 43%). Then they showed the resilience this team was known for by taking an early punch from 1994, but rebounding for the hard-fought win. Never underestimate the heart of a champion!

Congrats, Dream and Glide!

Houston Rockets Hakeem Olajuwon gets mobbed by tea Photo credit should read Tony RANZIE/AFP via Getty Images